Conferences

Last week I attended an online conference called Library 2.015.

From Library 2.0
This follows on the annual series since Library 2.010 which I attended back in 2010.

There is at least one option for sessions every hour so I struggled to choose which session to attend each hour, sometimes hopping in and out of sessions to see what else was going on.
I have a great new phrase to use after I heard one speaker advise that ‘the rule of two feet applies’ so you can leave if you want to – love it!

I highly recommend the Library 2.0 series of conferences for anyone involved in libraries around the world, the main problem for me being that it is based at San Jose State University in California, so NZ time that started at 3am! I wasn’t that keen/brave/stupid so I started with the 6am session with my library hero Dr. Michael Stephens.

If you missed out this year, here is a link to the session recordings.

In a week or so I will be attending the LIANZA conference held in Wellington this time. Once again I had to wade my way through abstracts competing for my attention, and have come up with a pretty full schedule, but it should be great.

I am especially looking forward to hearing Nigel Latta talking about change, and catching up with other librarians in between sessions, and at the social functions.
Who knows, I might even get a new job out of it?

2 thoughts on “Conferences

Leave a Reply

